Holmes - Folsom House
30 Plymouth St
Single Family Dwelling House
Bridgewater Town Center
Massachusetts Historical Commission Report
This relatively substantial Federal house serves as an important visual "anchor" at the corner of Plymouth and Summer Sts. Together with the old Burial Ground across the street, this house and its ample, tree-shaded lot, provide a charming "gateway" to the Central Square area. It possesses a U-shaped center hall plan, symmetrical 5-bay main facade, low hip roof. Particularly noteworthy is its recessed porch at its southeast corner—this may have been created c. 1900 at the time of the Colonial Revival entrance porch's construction.
Built c. 1820, this house was originally owned by Calvin Washburn and sold to Henry Holmes in 1827. Henry's widow Bethia lived here until the 1870s. By the early 1900s George W. Folsom, Jr. owned this property. He was a partner in the law firm of Sweet and Folsom at Central Square, Bridgewater. He studied law with Benjamin W. Harris and was admitted to the bar in 1889. In addition to Bridgewater, he practiced law in Plymouth, Boston and Brockton. In addition he was Director and Treasurer of the Independent Nail Co.